Tags

People say that the travel is as important as the destination. I have to agree. I have followed my own map and have listened to the beat of my own drum.

I have made a few shoot from the hip decisions that in hind sight were right, but not viewed as right at the time. My favorite one was when one of my bosses asked me “What can I do to make your little world better?” and I replied “You can Fuck Off!” thus starting me on a new career path.

I have also had a boss tell me, “Do you realize that I am in control of your destiny!” A little voice in my head said “If I can take you in a fight. I am really the boss right.” No fight ensued but a lesson was learned that day and a new career was in the near future. I predicted my future with no help from him.

In my travels I was transferred for my work to a new city. While having my dinner the first evening I saw a sign that has always stuck with me and has reaffirmed that the decisions I made throughout my life were right. It stated: “Some men strive long and hard to climb to the top of the ladder, only to find the ladder leaning against the wrong wall.” (Authour Unknown)

Are you one of those people? I’m not and I have no one to blame for what has happened to me. There is no one to blame any way as life is good.

In my present job as a Custodian. (Janitor to those who feel the need to put people down or those who grew up in an age when Janitors were respected.) I am the fly on the wall and have a unique view of the world around us. I am respected by most and tolerated by others, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

This is my view from the shallow end…..

